The ABCs of Home

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas weekend! As I sit warm and snow-bound in the woods in Rhode Island after a festive weekend at my parents’ house in New Jersey, I find myself thinking about the coziness of home. I never knew that one of my favorite home stores, ABC Carpet & Home has such sustainable sensibilities, and that its founder, Max Weinrib, is the grandfather of design heroine Madeline Weinrib, who, it turns out, is a trustee of a non-profit organization committed to eradicating child labor in the carpet industry, Project Mala.

As far as I can tell, Project Mala doesn’t offer any gifts for good (yet?), but ABC does, through its ABC Home & Planet collection, and its affiliated nonprofit organization, the ABC Home & Planet foundation.


The Home & Planet collection includes the items pictured above and below. I can’t help but dream of having one of these goodwood and goodthread chairs in a little house in the future.


The foundation is currently offering Charms for Change for $50 (on a green silk cord – I think I like this one best!) or $100 (on silver, with a couple additional charms) with 100% of the funds going to Help Darfur Now.

We’ve had quite a time getting the wireless up and the computers cranking in this snow, but there is a little report on all of the gifts that give that were under our tree (one of which I’m wearing in utter bliss right now), coming soon.

So for now, just for kicks, here are some of my Madeline Weinrib favorites. To-die-for carpets…


Thrones…


and pillows…


And who knew she has bags too? Perfect for New Years or a night at the beach.


Have a peek for yourself and indulge in some some snowy-day dreaming!

About Meg Davis Hely

I'm a New Jersey native who finds herself living in New England with a soft spot for presents, pretty things, and businesses that do good.
This entry was posted in ABC Carpet & Home, ABC Home & Planet Foundation, Bags, Her, Him, Home, Home Goods, Madeline Weinrib, Madeline Weinrib, Project Mala. Bookmark the permalink.