Letterpress Love

I am in LOVE with this Smock letterpress stationary, printed sustainably on bamboo paper.

Ahoy, summertime.




I adore this card because my parents first met when their two friends went off on a ride on a bicycle-built-for-two and left them behind to chat on a curb. Fortunately for me, my dad asked my mom to Preakness for their first date that very afternoon.

There is just something so appealing about these calling cards. Right out of Jane Austen and her Bath society.



“I did myself the honour of calling in Berkeley Street last Tuesday, and very much regretted that I was not fortunate enough to find yourselves and Mrs. Jennings at home. My card was not lost, I hope.”

~Willoughby to Elinor, Sense and Sensibility, Chapter 28

I will now be watching Kate and Emma in this ASAP.

I am pretty sure that my great grandfather Hely who first moved to a house in the woods in Westfield, NJ where I grew up, took the train into Newark each day to run a printing press business. I think I need to get to the bottom of this – thanks for the inspiration, Smock.

About Meg Davis Hely

I'm a New Jersey native who finds herself living in New England with a soft spot for presents, pretty things, and businesses that do good.
This entry was posted in Baby, Boy, Girl, Her, Him, Papers and Pens, Smock. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letterpress Love

  1. Pingback: Smock’s Best Friend | giftsthatgive

Leave a Reply

