The Leakey Collection

I have always loved jewelry made out of wood. This necklace and bracelet from The Leakey Collection are made by and support the women of the Maasai tribe in Kenya. The Leakey collection is run by Katy Leakey and Phillip Leakey, the third son of the famous Kenyan archaeologists, Drs. Louis and Mary Leakey, who has held several leadership roles in the Kenyan government.

If you are in Boston, it seems you can catch some items from the Leakey Collection at the cute Charles Street Flat of the Hill.


Pic via Beacon-Hill-Boston.

Today is my mom’s birthday. I get to thank her for introducing me to pretty much everything in this world, including one of these pretty bracelets from the Leakey Collection, and two of my favorite books about independent women, Kenya, and the Maasai.


More on Out of Africa, here.

Luckily I’ll get to see my mom for my sister’s wedding on Friday, and celebrate her birthday then. Until then, xoxo, Mom!


Meryl Streep as Karen von Blixen-Finecke in Out of Africa, via AMC.

About Meg Davis Hely

I'm a New Jersey native who finds herself living in New England with a soft spot for presents, pretty things, and businesses that do good.
This entry was posted in Girl, Her, Jewelry, Meryl Streep, The Leakey Collection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

