A Year in Review

20111215-100519.jpg

This has been a sleepy little blog all Fall and a hibernating one since Thanksgiving. Life has been a bustle this season and this year in general, and while I hope to get back into a rythm of thinking about gifts that give each morning, I’m so grateful for the things that have prevented me from doing so lately. Since it’s my birthday today, I just want to list a few gifts that I’ve gotten this year that make me feel like one of the luckiest people in the world…

(1) Our new city apartment, a teeny one bedroom on a little old alley in Beacon Hill. It’s just around the corner from the first and only apartment I had on my own – a studio on Charles Street. Every time I walk past my old doorway I think about how much life has changed since I lived there – that I never would have guessed what was ahead. It’s hard to see in the photo above that I took this foggy morning, but when we moved into the new place, a few young girls were hanging garland all around the little streetlights in the alley. And every house has festive Christmas window boxes. And I get to walk through the Public Garden to work each day and feel like I am in London. The apartment is small and a little grungy and not without flaws, but boy, do I love it.

(2) Our little old summer cottage in Rhode Island. It’s a fixer upper, but when I stand in the leaves in the front yard with Blue, and look out at Narragansett Bay and the Jamestown and Newport bridges, I have to pinch myself to believe it.

(3) Our puppy Blue growing up, and all the people who have helped us to take care of him – my sister and her husband in Rhode Island all Fall, my Mom and Dad in New Jersey while we were on our honeymoon and this month, our close family friends who have treated him like their own, and John’s parents so often at their house in the woods. Blue makes me the happiest every day.

(4) All the time we’ve gotten with family this year – over the summer, in September around our wedding, and all Fall with my sister and her husband living with us in Rhode Island. And all the help they’ve given us – I’m picturing my immediate family and aunts and uncle setting up our wedding tent and a game of croquet, another aunt and uncle letting us bring our pup to Thanksgiving, my cousin lining up a great prize from The Office to benefit MetroLacrosse, my uncle coming to speak on a Judge panel for my job, our parents helping us with so many things for our house, my parents throwing us a very special party with so many loved ones around, and everyone being patient with us through a busy time.

(5) Our incredible friends, who were so flexible and giving around our wedding. I’ve missed having more visits with them this year, but am sure that we’ll spend more time with them in 2012. I’m also so grateful to have a best friend back in Boston for the forseeable future. It really does change everything.

(6) My new job. I just absolutely love it. I have the most brilliant, motivated, and kind coworkers, and that makes me want to do my job better every day. I can’t wait to keep getting organized over the quiet holiday weeks, and get some really exciting things going in 2012.

(7) Refreshing trips to my mom’s family’s lake house, the beach in RI, Florida, the green cliffs of Kauai (!), Half Moon Bay at pumpkin time and… 10 weddings!

(8) The chance to marry one of the most loving and solid people in the world. I get a little shy about this kind of stuff (picture me blushing and looking down at the lawn as I walked down the aisle to meet him), so I won’t say much more other than that I love him very much.

There are so many more things to be grateful for but in light of #6, and wanting to spend time with John and a couple friends after work tonight, I’ve got to dash. Thanks for putting up with all this sap, and know that the gifts that give ideas have been piling up over this great shopping season, and I’ve got my fingers crossed that I can share them more soon!

About Meg Davis Hely

I'm a New Jersey native who finds herself living in New England with a soft spot for presents, pretty things, and businesses that do good.
This entry was posted in In Other News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

