Back to School

sweatercamelcoat

menshirtgapmenkhaki

babyhatnavystripedressbaby

boyflannelboysweater

This afternoon I’m visiting the Edward W. Brooke Charter School, a Boston public charter school in Roslindale, MA. Both of the school leaders and a whopping 18 of the teachers are graduates of Teach for America. As you probably know, Teach for America and other urban teacher training programs like the New York City Teaching Fellows have supplied many of our current leaders in public and entrepreneurial education. I have endless respect for my sister, who was a New York City Teaching Fellow, and my uncle and future brother-in-law who were TFA Corps members.

Coincidentally, yesterday one of my past colleagues at MetroLacrosse, Inc. sent along a great tip. As part of the Gap’s Give & Get program, you can shop at the Gap, Old Navy, or Banana Republic from November 11-14, and get 30% off, plus 5% of what you spend goes to Teach For America.

If I were going back to law school or to work at a school today, I might wear the cable knit sweater above with a skirt and tights and wrap up in that camel coat. I’d probably throw it on again over the weekend with a t-shirt, soft jeans and the Gap’s fake suede flats. And I’d definitely pick up a scruffy flannel shirt as a gift. The kids gear is even better. Enjoy!

About Meg Davis Hely

I'm a New Jersey native who finds herself living in New England with a soft spot for presents, pretty things, and businesses that do good.
This entry was posted in Baby, Bags, Boy, Clothes, Gap, Girl, Her, Him, Jewelry, Shoes, Teach for America, Toiletries & Cosmetics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment